Posts Tagged With: Feng shui

2022 – Year of the (Water)Tiger

Next week will usher in the new year, according to the Chinese zodiac. February first begins the Year of the Tiger, a powerful sign representing strength and braveness. Those born under this sign are known for their strong moral compass, competitiveness and confidence, as well as their charm and occasional unpredictability. However, they can also be stubborn and judgmental. Tiger personalities make good leaders because they are hard workers and tend to be ambitious.

Due to their sensitive natures, Tigers can be moody and intense. The Water element will intensify these emotions. Water Tigers are known to be family-oriented and protective. Their interpersonal relationships are very important to them, and they are always looking out for the common good.

Fun fact: the Chinese calendar consists of 12-year cycles that start with the Rat, followed by the Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog and Pig. Legend has it that the order was decided when the Jade Emperor challenged all the animals in his kingdom to a great race. The first to arrive at the Emperor’s palace would win his favor and be his personal guards, and that is the reason these twelve animals are featured in the Chinese zodiac.

The current 12-year cycle began in 2020, the Year of the Rat. It was all about survival. 2021 was the Year of the Ox, and it was about learning to navigate a new reality. And how! 2022 is going to be a year of change. It will be a year for adventure! (I’M MOVING TO SPAIN!!!) It is likely to be a year of big surprises, because people are ready to move forward, travel again and be more willing to take risks in order to make progress.

Lucky colors this year will be green and blue, yellow and red. Lucky numbers: 1 & 3. Lucky directions: North & East.

2022 is going to be auspicious for Horses, Pigs and Dogs. Monkeys and Snakes may face some challenges. But for all the zodiac signs, it is a year for pursuing your passion.

Get creative.

Take chances.

Make the changes you’ve been thinking about.

Categories: Feng Shui, Travel | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Eight Directions Feng Shui

The practice of feng shui is founded on basic principles that stress the importance of location. The eight compass directions – North, South, East, West, Northeast, Northwest, Southeast and Southwest – signify eight different kinds of luck. Eight Directions Feng Shui (also known as Eight Mansions Feng Shui) is a personalized formula that categorizes people as belonging to one of two groups, either East or West. Both groups have four good (lucky) directions and four bad (unlucky) directions. And everyone has one particular direction best for personal growth. The directions are based on your kua number. Kua numbers are a system of numerology based on two things: your year of birth and your gender. Here is how to calculate your kua number:

1 – Add the last two digits of your birth year. If the result is a double digit, add the two digits so that you end up with a single digit number.

2 – If you are female, add 5. (For those born after 2000, add 6.) Reduce to a single digit if necessary. This is your kua number.

3 – If you are male, deduct your digit from 10. (For those born after 2000, deduct from 9.) This is your kua number.

If you end up with 1, 3, 4 or 9 you are in the East group. Your lucky directions are E, SE, N, S.

If you end up with 2, 5, 6, 7, or 8 you are in the West group. (The number 5 occupies the middle of the pa kua.) Your lucky directions are W, SW, NW, NE.

The pa kua symbol is basically a feng shui compass. It is an eight-sided figure that contains a kua number and its associations. Also known as the bagua map, it is used as a tool to locate the areas of positive and negative energy in a home or office (as defined by lucky and unlucky directions). Once the different areas are defined, you can apply feng shui “cures” where needed to ensure the flow of positive energy (chi).

The pa kua is comprised of trigrams – three rows of broken and unbroken lines which symbolize the aspirations of humankind. There are also specific colors and elements that go hand-in-hand with each kua number. If you understand the attributes of the eight directions, you can use them to arrange the layout of your home or office and incorporate their associated elements to ensure that you are bringing in the right kind of luck to your environment. (Check out my earlier post about the Bagua here.) You can use the pa kua on a small scale (i.e. in each room) or on a large scale (i.e. applied to an entire house or office building).

In my next post, I will explain the trigrams (the line symbols on the pa qua). In the meantime, use a compass and the diagram to find out where the auspicious rooms (or corners of each room) are located in your own home and office!

Categories: Think About it | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: